MEDIA CONSUMPTION: EPISODE XII/XIX

So this is going to be the last of my little review blogs! I’ve been doing this in different iterations over the past three years, and it’s probably more than run its course. So goodbye, lil’ reviews!

BOOKS, ELECTRONIC:

The Colossus and Other Poems by Sylvia Plath
Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong
The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky by Mackenzi Lee
Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

BOOKS, PHYSICAL:

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 adapted by Young Kim

BOOKS FOR UNI:

Milkman by Anna Burns
Cygnet by Season Butler
How to Be Both by Ali Smith
The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

COMEDY SPECIALS:

Jack Whitehall: Christmas with my Father
I had a good time. :p
John Mulaney & the Sack Lunch Bunch
I just think Mulaney is such a marvelous human.

DOCUMENTARIES:

A Berry Royal Christmas
There’s just nothing I love better than a good non-profit.
Tickled
I mean… what a strange saga.
There’s Something Wrong With Aunt Diane
A truly baffling and heartbreaking story.

FILMS:

Marriage Story
This made me very anxious, which I suppose is a good thing?
The Rise of Skywalker
I still don’t know how I feel about this? Unlike the previous film.
Brittany Runs a Marathon
I cried and then promptly had a lot of trouble running on the treadmill.
The Two Popes
Jonathan Pryce is such a good actor.
Noelle
I’m just so charmed by Anna Kendrick.
Booksmart
Yeah, it reminds me of my friends and how awesome teenagers are.

MY WRITING:

Lippy
A short story I wrote back in 2015, accepted for posting by Feather Pen. CW: eating disorders & abuse/neglect.
Advent of Change: Days 1–8
Charity and Nonprofit Recommendations, Episode I
Advent of Change: Days 9–16
Charity and Nonprofit Recommendations, Episode II
Where have you gone?
A rumination on how tough the semester was.
Advent of Change: Days 17–24
Charity and Nonprofit Recommendations, Episode III

OLD FAVOURITES:

Hook
I mean, one of the greatest pieces of fanfiction, amirite?
The Fault in Our Stars
I mean, one of the greatest pieces of fiction, amirite?
Pitch Perfect
I also skipped through to the best parts of Pitch Perfect 2 (Skylar Astin, Ben Platt, some musical numbers…)
Sense & Sensibility (1995)
Jane Austen is the greatest, do not you think?
Mulan
This is just the greatest Disney film.
Little Women (1994)
I love this so much and I had to clear my mind of it in preparation for watching the new version.
The Man Who Invented Christmas
I quite liked this, but also I kept thinking about how different Charles Dickens would turn out to be in a couple of years.
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
A classic.
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Charlie just understands me.
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest
This still holds nostalgia for me and I think I understood a couple of things a little better, but bits of it bother me.

TELEVISION SHOWS

Jack Whitehall: Travels with My Father
This is fun, but nonetheless, I feel very uneasy supporting anyone who supports the conservative party.
The Great Festive Bake Off
I watched these with my mum and it was lovely.
The Mandalorian
Baby Yoda.

THEATRE

Pride & Prejudice
While I loved this theatre and the people who work there and my overall experience, I was not impressed with the show.

Leave a comment