ADVENT OF CHANGE: DAYS 1-8

So. I really love Advent calendars and I love nonprofits and charities even more. I also love Vlogmas, the trend on YouTube to make a video of your daily life every day.* Thus, I decided to combine all these things for my own sense of self-worth, and make Instagram stories each day, showcasing my Advent of Change calendar, in which each window represents which charity your money has gone to for the day, and also giving my own recommendation!

I’d like to add the caveat that I bought the calendar from John Lewis, which very clearly has a serious problem with plagiarism. Please show your support for one of my favourite creators, Jen Campbell, whose work precedes and surpasses this year’s John Lewis Christmas advert.

On to all the amazing places you can put your money!

1 December
Advent of Change: Refugee Council “Today you have brought study materials to a child refugee, helping them to settle in and excel at school.”
Me, Abigail: RAICES – specifically, I’d recommend that you donate to the Harry Potter and the Sacred Text fundraiser for RAICES called Don’t Be A Dursley!

2 December
Advent of Change: Teenage Cancer Trust “Today you have provided Wi-Fi for a young person in hospital, offering a sense of normality and a vital link to their family and friends.”
Me, Abigail: ATLAS – this post will go out after their production of The Giver, but you can still support them by learning more and buying merch!

3 December
Advent of Change: Plastic Oceans “Today you have helped to protect our oceans for generations to come, by providing a lesson to young children about plastic pollution.”
Me, Abigail: The Harry Potter Alliance – oh, this is just my favourite non-profit or whatever.
Music Society: My a cappella group sang carols at Liverpool Street Station for Solving Kids’ Cancer.

4 December
Advent of Change: RNIB “Today you have helped to send a letter from Santa to a blind or partially sighted child in a format they can enjoy.”
Me, Abigail: Red Cross – Inspired by my Grandpa, I used to be obsessed with donating blood. It’s an easy way to save a life, and if you can donate, it has very little impact on your own body!

5 December
Advent of Change: Emmaus “Today you have helped a homeless person rebuild their life, by providing them with a home, meaningful work and support.”
Me, Abigail: Guiding Eyes for the Blind – Inspired by my pupper Trot, and watching my uncle raise some of these Guiding Eyes pups! (He adopts some of the ones who fail the test!)

6 December
Advent of Change: Sustrans “Today you have helped care for 16,000 miles of National Cycle Network, supporting healthier places and happier lives for everyone.”
Me, Abigail: Project for Awesome – More than ten million dollars raised over the last decade!

7 December
Advent of Change: Willow “Today you have helped a young person living with a life-threatening illness make memories on a Special Day with their loved ones.”
Me, Abigail: St Jude Children’s Research Hospital – I have a long history of raising money for this in school and it’s just a beautiful place.
Music Society: Round two of caroling for my a cappella group! This time we collected money for the Alzheimer’s Society.

8 December
Advent of Change: Dallaglio RugbyWorks “Today you have helped a vulnerable teenager outside of mainstream education feel the pride of representing their school team for the first time.”
Me, Abigail: Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity – I’m running for this lovely charity for the London Landmarks Half Marathon; sponsor my run here.

*I learned about Vlogmas and Advent of Change from Niomi Smart.

One thought on “ADVENT OF CHANGE: DAYS 1-8

Leave a comment