MEDIA CONSUMPTION: EPISODE X/XIX

BOOKS, ELECTRONIC:

The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Waiting for Godot: A Tragicomedy in Two Acts by Samuel Beckett
Red Parts: Autobiography of a Trial by Maggie Nelson

BOOKS, PHYSICAL:

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green*
Bury the Lede by Gaby Dunn, illustrated by Claire Roe with Miquel Muerto

BOOKS FOR UNI:

Contemporary Fiction: A Very Short Introduction by Robert Eaglestone
Dear Cyborgs by Eugene Lim
My Struggle Book 1: A Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgård
Seasonal Disturbances by Karen McCarthy Woolf
Night by David Harsent
Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia by Mohsin Hamid

EVENTS:

New Suns: A Feminist Literary Festival at the Barbican
This was lovely and I wish I could have done more of the things. I am very grateful to my friend Leah who encouraged me to go and to my friend Erin who accompanied me for much of the time!

OLD FAVORITES:

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Yeah, I guess this was a bit more problematic than I remember, but gosh are the Sherman Brothers great.
Spotlight
Yeah, I’ve watched this maybe five times too many.

TELEVISION SHOWS

Unbelievable
Some excellent lady work here. It’s a shame that the people who probably really need to watch this won’t or will undercut it with their nonsense.
Big Mouth: Season 3
Honestly, this was the perfect thing to watch when debilitated by my period pain.
RuPaul’s Drag Race UK
What a time to have a TV license in the UK.
Fleabag
Oh… I just binged the whole thing in my depression. It’s fine.
Looking for Alaska
I would be a poor John Green scholar indeed if I didn’t watch this. This adaptation in particular was an important catharsis for me.

WEST END:

Ian McKellen On Stage
Ah, this man is a joy and a marvel. And all proceeds go to charity! There were actually also really nice people around me whom I befriended. It was like Return of the King a bit, though, in that it had about three endings.

Leave a comment