MEDIA CONSUMPTION: EPISODE VI/XIX

BOOKS, AUDIO:

What Was She Thinking? [Notes on a Scandal] by Zoë Heller
Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton
Postcards from the Edge by Carrie Fisher
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
Florence Gordon by Brian Morton
Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier

BOOKS, ELECTRONIC:

Bygone Badass Broads: 52 Forgotten Women Who Changed the World by Mackenzi Lee, illustrated by Petra Eriksson
There Are More Beautiful Things Than Beyonce by Morgan Parker
The Laramie Project and The Laramie Project: Ten Years Later by Moisés Kaufman, Leigh Fondakowski, Greg Pierotti, Andy Paris, et al.
Boy Erased: A Memoir by Garrard Conley
Egghead: Or, You Can’t Survive on Ideas Alone by Bo Burnham, illustrated by Chance Bone
Trouble Never Sleeps by Stephanie Tromly

BOOKS, PHYSICAL:

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher
Call on Me: A Prayer Book for Young People ed. by Jenifer Gamber & Sharon Ely Pearson
The Hidden Power of F*cking Up by The Try Guys
Stay Sexy & Don’t Get Murdered: The Definitive How-To Guide by Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark
March: Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell

DOCUMENTARIES:

Nadiya: Anxiety and Me
I love the heck out of Nadiya. However, I know that her version of treatment would not/did not work for me. So I wish it were more comprehensive!

FILMS:

Aladdin
You definitely can’t beat the original, but I’m glad that they made steps towards making Jasmine a more feminist character.
Detective Pikachu
I’m not enough of a fan to be able to really talk to you about this, but I had a great time!
The Laramie Project
It’s just really good. I would love to see it on stage, though.

GUILTY PLEASURES:

What A Girl Wants
New York —> London and Colin Firth. Need I say more?

TELEVISION:

When They See Us
If you think that the US prison and justice systems aren’t racist, you need to watch this.
FIFA Women’s World Cup
The best sport played by the best of what much of the world considers to be binary genders on Earth.

WRITING:

That Faith Hill Song
A sappy non-fic I wrote a year ago when I couldn’t sleep.

Leave a comment